Psalms Classification

Psalms Classification including sections and notes identifying the five books of the Psalter and smaller sub-collections.

Many attempts to classify the psalms fail to consistently distinguish between categories related by form and categories related by content. These charts give each psalm both a preliminary classification “By Form” (e.g., L, IL, CL, IT, CT, H, A) and “By Content” (wisdom, confidence, repentance, imprecation, kingdom, royal coronation, etc.).

In the PDF, asterisks (*) indicate psalms that illustrate the typical elements of the type; plus symbols (+) indicate psalms of mixed types; question marks (?) indicate less-certain classifications. Grayed blocks indicate sub-collections. “Psalms of David” are in red.

PDF ver. 2014-03-01
4 pp. 8.5 x 11″ .08 mb

PDF version history:
2014-03-01: Updated SKU
2011-11-22: New release; revised f. in-house booklet

Psalms Classification | End | To the top ↑